Welcome to the Irish Radiation Research Society

The Irish Radiation Research Society (IRRS) is an all-Ireland non-profit organisation for researchers in the field of ionising and non-ionising radiation. The IRRS aims to promote and advance learning and education in the field of radiation protection and radiation research throughout the island of Ireland.

The society is affiliated to both the International Association for Radiation Research (IARR) and to the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA). The membership of IRRS is drawn from academic institutions, health research groups and statutory agencies from throughout Ireland.


Affiliated Societies

The IRRS is an associated society of the International Radiation Protection Association. Members of the IRRS represent Ireland through the IRPA for the advancement of radiation protection.
The IRRS is also affiliated to the International Association for Radiation Research, an independent organization of international societies for radiation research, which organizes the International Congress for Radiation Research.


Environmental Protection Agency Research Call

For your information please note that the EPA Research Calls for 2017 are now open. Please visit epa.ie/researchandeducation/ for more information.


Our gallery of the 2016 annual meeting hosted by Trinity College Dublin is available from the following link.


We are pleased to invite you to the 2017 Irish Radiation Research Society annual meeting taking place on Friday 10th and Saturday 11th of November at the Environmental Protection Agency headquarters (Wexford). The goal of IRRS2017 is to provide an opportunity to meet, share ideas and continue to contribute to our field. It is an opportunity for IRRS members to give an update on on-going research activities as well as enabling young researchers to present their exciting work and engage with the Society. To register for IRRS 2017 please find relevant information on the ‘IRRS 2017 Annual meeting’ webpage.